Erik's Terraria Server
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Favorite Building Materials

4 posters

Go down

Favorite Building Materials Empty Favorite Building Materials

Post by Vince 26/1/2013, 12:36 am

As an avid Terrarian Architect, I have some blocks, walls, and decoration that I prefer, and others that I don't. What are your favorite building materials? For me:
Top 3 Blocks:
1) Gray Brick: Plain, simple, not too flashy. That's what I like about it. This type of block, to me, is the most versatile building material in Terraria. If you look at my houses, they are all mostly gray brick structures.
2) Glass: Unique in that it is see-through. It captures and enhances lighting, and when used in conjunction with gray brick, dazzling patterns can be born. See My Incandescent Castle in the gallery for an example of this.
3) Silver Brick: A very alluring shiny quality, captures the eye. However due to its own sheen one should not overuse this brick- may cause some gaudy- looking buildings. This brick also enhances lighting.
Top 3 Walls:
1) Gray brick wall: Like its gray brick counterpart, this wall is plain and simple, with very versatile designs when used in conjunction with glass walls.
2) Glass Wall: Unique because it is see through. VERY useful for window designs.
3) Copper Brick Wall: Good, but not to be overused. Looks nice in conjunction with gray brick walls.
Top 3 Furniture:
1) Table: Good space filler; also can be enhanced when other furniture (such as candles/clay pots) are placed on it. Versatile.
2) Chair: You can't have tables without chairs!
3) Clay pot. Blooms beautiful color- enhancing flowers when left untouched. You can also put various seeds in it to specify the color.
Top 3 Lightings:
1) Gold Chandelier: Just... perfect. Lots of lighting, looks good in general...
2) Candle: Nice look to the sprite. Also useful because it can be placed on tables and wooden platforms, which is rare.